Download CrocellKit Free Today


The CrocellKit is the kit used by Danish metal band Crocell. It was sampled while the band was recording their 2018 album Relics. Jacob Olsen of JBOSound kindly let us into the studio after the band had wrapped up drum recordings in 2017. We then spend 5 hours sampling the kit with Jacobs mic setup and this is the result.

This drumkit was prepared with DGEdit, the official DrumGizmo instrument editor. Drumkit and Midimap xml files created with Emacs by using the xml file of another kit as template.

The free drum kit consists of the following drums and cymbals:

  • 1 kickdrum (with double pedal)
  • 2 hanging toms
  • 2 floor toms
  • 1 snare
  • 1 hihat
  • 3 crash cymbals
  • 1 ride cymbals
  • 2 china cymbal
  • 2 splash cymbals

This should be considered a metal or rock kit.

Microphone setup

  • Snare top: Shure Beta 56A
  • Snare bottom: Oktava MK-012
  • Rack tom mics: Audix D2
  • Floor tom mics: Audix D4
  • Kick drum inside barrel mic: Shure Beta 91A
  • Kick drum behind barrel mic: Sennheiser E602-II
  • Hihat: Oktava MK-012-01
  • Ride: Oktava MK-012
  • Overhead mics: Oktava MK-012 & Oktava MK-012-01
  • Ambience mics: Studio Projects C1

Channel setup

All microphones are connected to its own channel when loading the kit in DrumGizmo. 15 channels total. Remember to pan the relevant channels to give you a better stereo effect.

  • Ch1: AmbLeft
  • Ch2: AmbRight
  • Ch3: OHLeft
  • Ch4: OHRight
  • Ch5: OHCenter
  • Ch6: Hihat
  • Ch7: Ride
  • Ch8: SnareTop
  • Ch9: SnareBottom
  • Ch10: Tom1
  • Ch11: Tom2
  • Ch12: FTom1
  • Ch13: FTom2
  • Ch14: KDrumInside
  • Ch15: KDrumOutside